Netherlands in RASFF, 2020–2025

← All origin reports

Netherlands was the origin of 1,430 of 25,645 EU food notifications in 2020–2025 (5.6%), ranking 4th of 160 origins. 12.2% concerned dietetic foods, food supplements and fortified foods; the most-cited hazard class was pathogenic micro-organisms, and the most-cited substance salmonella.

Food only (feed and food contact materials excluded), all notification types — border rejections, alerts and information notifications — validated 1 January 2020 to 31 December 2025. Download every table (CSV).

Exporting from Netherlands? Get an email when shipments from Netherlands are flagged or rejected at the EU border — before your buyers ask.

By year

YearNotifications Share of EU totalRank among origins
2020207 5.9%5
2021217 5.2%6
2022203 5.1%5
2023259 6.1%4
2024248 5.1%4
2025296 6.0%3
2020–20251,430 5.6%4

Tables below show each year 2020–2025; cells are shaded against their row's own peak. Change compares 2025 with 2020 and is shown only where 2020 had at least 10 notifications ("new" where it had none). RASFF Window's data starts on 23 January 2020.

By notification type

Type2020202120222023202420252020–2025Change
Alert
A serious risk in a product on the EU market, needing rapid action.
14414098133105133 753 (52.7%) −8%
Information for attention
A risk found, but the product is not on other members' markets, so they need not act rapidly.
282945477060 279 (19.5%) +114%
Information for follow-up
A risk in a product on, or possibly on, other members' markets; follow-up needed, not rapid action.
3548607973103 398 (27.8%) +194%

How problems were found

Details available for 1,427 of 1,430 notifications.

Found by2020202120222023202420252020–2025Change
Company's own check 136136112136112155 787 (55.2%) +14%
Official control on the market 5547536884105 412 (28.9%) +91%
Consumer complaint or illness 132422302621 136 (9.5%) +62%
Other 271418195 65 (4.6%) —
Monitoring or surveillance sample 002569 22 (1.5%) —
At the EU border 130100 5 (0.4%) —

Did it reach the EU market?

Of the notifications whose record says either way, 97.4% concerned a product that had been placed on the market; the rest were stopped before it. RASFF records whether a product was on sale, not whether anyone bought it.

Details available for 1,427 of 1,430 notifications.

YearReached the marketStopped beforeNot statedShare reached
202018841597.9%
202119332198.5%
202218113993.3%
202323461897.5%
202422541898.3%
202527251898.2%

Distributed to

Country2020202120222023202420252020–2025Change
Belgium 111117108126106110 678 −1%
Germany 8570548975110 483 +29%
Netherlands 786552603952 346 −33%
France 613635473046 255 −25%
Spain 322326332540 179 +25%
Luxembourg 383012261324 143 −37%
Italy 251916372121 139 −16%
United Kingdom 351624261520 136 −43%
Sweden 25279211627 125 +8%
Austria 30217301516 119 −47%

What was done

A notification can record several actions; each is counted once per notification, so shares can add up to more than 100%.

Action2020202120222023202420252020–2025Change
Authorities or operators informed 144139151171145176 926 (64.9%) +22%
Withdrawn from the market 55826610486114 507 (35.5%) +107%
Recalled from consumers 412431343047 207 (14.5%) +15%
Not stated 131718234835 154 (10.8%) +169%
Destroyed 7164222938 116 (8.1%) —
Detained or held under seal 9156182236 106 (7.4%) —
Re-dispatched 38213617 49 (3.4%) —
Treated, relabelled or diverted 0204118 25 (1.8%) —
Re-dispatched or destroyed 003120 6 (0.4%) —
Reinforced checks ordered 011200 4 (0.3%) —
Released to the market 000101 2 (0.1%) —
Other 000001 1 (0.1%) new

Consumer recalls by year

YearRecallsShare of notifications
20204119.8%
20212411.1%
20223115.3%
20233413.2%
20243012.1%
20254715.9%

By food category

Category2020202120222023202420252020–2025Change
Dietetic Foods, Food Supplements and Fortified Foods 112934373627 174 (12.2%) +145%
Other Food Product / Mixed 192417271432 133 (9.3%) +68%
Cereals and Bakery Products 231825232220 131 (9.2%) −13%
Meat and Meat Products (Other Than Poultry) 222224222313 126 (8.8%) −41%
Poultry Meat and Poultry Meat Products 151511292327 120 (8.4%) +80%
Fruits and Vegetables 161717241619 109 (7.6%) +19%
Nuts, Nut Products and Seeds 44181210513 102 (7.1%) −70%
Prepared Dishes and Snacks 779181418 73 (5.1%) —
Fish and Fish Products 1081312615 64 (4.5%) +50%
Bivalve Molluscs and Products Thereof 35810239 58 (4.1%) —
Confectionery 24191626 58 (4.1%) —
Milk and Milk Products 151083137 56 (3.9%) −53%
Cocoa and Cocoa Preparations, Coffee and Tea 4413522 39 (2.7%) —
Soups, Broths, Sauces and Condiments 635996 38 (2.7%) —
Herbs and Spices 31044110 32 (2.2%) —
Eggs and Egg Products 11041213 31 (2.2%) —
Non-Alcoholic Beverages 241546 22 (1.5%) —
Crustaceans and Products Thereof 334324 19 (1.3%) —
Food Additives and Flavourings 093200 14 (1.0%) —
Fats and Oils 045201 12 (0.8%) —
Ices and Desserts 121024 10 (0.7%) —
Alcoholic Beverages 000212 5 (0.3%) —
Food Contact Materials 000102 3 (0.2%) —
Live Animals 000010 1 (0.1%) —

By hazard class

A notification citing hazards of two classes counts once in each, so rows can add up to more than the total.

Hazard class2020202120222023202420252020–2025Change
Pathogenic micro-organisms 443948636157 312 (21.8%) +30%
Pesticide residues 563175512 116 (8.1%) −79%
Novel food 21361025 47 (3.3%) —
Mycotoxins 3678315 42 (2.9%) —
Biological contaminants 6588212 41 (2.9%) —
Allergens 483426 27 (1.9%) —
Composition 1231511 23 (1.6%) —
Metals 205923 21 (1.5%) —
Industrial contaminants 232931 20 (1.4%) —
Natural toxins (other) 232315 16 (1.1%) —
Environmental pollutants 210138 15 (1.0%) —
Residues of veterinary medicinal products 125151 15 (1.0%) —
Food additives and flavourings 242113 13 (0.9%) —
Lacking or improper documentation or controls 030004 7 (0.5%) —
Microbial contaminants (other) 110023 7 (0.5%) —
Non-pathogenic micro-organisms 001212 6 (0.4%) —
Migration 010111 4 (0.3%) —
Faulty labelling or claims 101001 3 (0.2%) —
Foreign bodies 100101 3 (0.2%) —
Foreign bodies / physical danger 010110 3 (0.2%) —
Parasitic infestation 011100 3 (0.2%) —
Organoleptic aspects 000101 2 (0.1%) —
Adulteration / fraud 000001 1 (0.1%) new
Genetically modified 000100 1 (0.1%) —
Gmo / novel food 010000 1 (0.1%) —
Not determined (other) 000001 1 (0.1%) new
Organoleptic non-compliance 000100 1 (0.1%) —
No hazard recorded 77107107134143130 698 (48.8%) +69%

By risk level

Risk decision2020202120222023202420252020–2025Change
Serious 160144123153122136 838 (58.6%) −15%
Potentially serious 000224764 133 (9.3%) —
Potential risk 000525773 182 (12.7%) —
Not serious 182418282221 131 (9.2%) +17%
No risk 033102 9 (0.6%) —
Undecided 294659300 137 (9.6%) −100%

Most-cited substances

Labels RASFF records for one substance are merged (e.g. chlorpyrifos and chlorpyrifos-ethyl); chemically distinct compounds stay apart.

Pesticide residues

Substance2020202120222023202420252020–2025Change
ethylene oxide 44254200 75 −100%
flonicamid 301011 6 —
chlorpyrifos 000113 5 —
chlorate 010101 3 —
linuron 000021 3 —
acetamiprid 000002 2 new
carbendazim 010100 2 —
aclonifen 000010 1 —
anthraquinone 010000 1 —
bromopropylate 010000 1 —

Other hazards

Substance2020202120222023202420252020–2025Change
salmonella 232125413530 175 +30%
listeria monocytogenes 121111878 57 −33%
norovirus 4252179 39 —
cannabidiol (cbd) 2114516 29 —
aflatoxins 054727 25 —
tetrahydrocannabinol (thc) 544306 22 —
escherichia coli shigatoxin-producing 325713 21 —
histamine 114422 14 —
novel food ingredient 002137 13 —
ochratoxin A 211027 13 —

By month

Pooled across 2020–2025. Each row is shaded against its own peak, so its season shows whatever its size. Alerts peak in November; Information notifications peak in May.

By notification type

TypeJanFebMarAprMayJunJulAugSepOctNovDecPeak
Alerts486057584967445668749082November
Information notifications354863477049665460645863May

By hazard class

Hazard classJanFebMarAprMayJunJulAugSepOctNovDecPeak
Pathogenic micro-organisms182537243020212427312332March
Pesticide residues3585747810142817November
Novel food242311337579December
Mycotoxins251534252670November
Biological contaminants334025635316July

Notifying member states

Member state2020202120222023202420252020–2025Change
Netherlands 105106108126114130 689 +24%
Belgium 153638395039 217 +160%
Germany 272615332751 179 +89%
Italy 1162151211 57 +0%
Denmark 12911963 50 −75%
France 2556916 43 —
Spain 5333716 37 —
Sweden 592438 31 —
Ireland 544346 26 —
Austria 110556 18 —

Method

Source: RASFF Window, the European Commission's public notification database; every food notification validated in 2020–2025.

A notification naming several origins counts once for each, so origin shares can add up to more than 100%.

Hazard classes are the ones RASFF attaches to each hazard. A hazard without a class is "unclassified"; a notification exported without any hazard is "no hazard recorded".

Counts describe what EU authorities found and reported. They depend on how often each product is checked, so they are not a rate of unsafe food.

Licence: CC-BY-4.0. Cite as "Netherlands food safety record, 2020–2025: EU RASFF", RASFF Trends, 2026-11-08, https://rasff.fruit-risk.com/reports/netherlands.html.